Skip to main content

NC State Students Receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Awards

Memorial Belltower

Twenty-two NC State students have earned awards that will help support their graduate school pursuits, thanks to the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program

The Graduate Research Fellowship Program provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant research achievements in STEM or STEM education. NSF especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, persons with disabilities, veterans, and undergraduate seniors to apply. 

The purpose of the awards is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing full-time research-based master’s and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education. 

The recipients of the Graduate Research Fellowship Program awards from NC State are:

  • Jessica Levey (engineering – civil engineering)
  • Jennifer Fang (engineering – chemical engineering)
  • Sydney Danielle Floryanzia (engineering – chemical engineering)
  • Temitope Ibitoye (engineering – environmental engineering)
  • Angelina Joy (STEM education and learning research)
  • Ishita Kamboj (engineering – materials engineering)
  • Caitlin Ann Karrenberg (engineering – civil engineering)
  • Cristina Lorenzo-Velázquez (engineering – civil engineering)
  • Siena Mantooth (engineering – biomedical engineering)
  • Keith Markham (engineering – electrical and electronic engineering)
  • Nikhil Milind (life sciences – genomics)
  • Danielle Moloney (STEM education and learning research – mathematics education)
  • Kyle Cuongthe Nguyen (mathematical sciences – mathematical biology)
  • Uchenna Osia (STEM education and learning research – computationally intensive research)
  • Zachary Paul Parks (Comp/IS/Eng – quantum information science)
  • Andy Rivas (engineering – nuclear engineering)
  • April E. Sharp (life sciences – ecology)
  • James Michael Skripchuk (STEM education and learning research – technology education)
  • Alyssa M. Taylor (mathematical sciences – mathematical biology)
  • Ana Sofia Mendez Uzsoy (physics and astronomy – astronomy and astrophysics)
  • Mariely Vega-Gomez (life sciences – ecology)
  • Sreeram Raguraman Venkat (mathematical sciences – applied mathematics)
  • Murry Burgess (life sciences – environmental biology)
  • Eric Butoto (life sciences – genetics)
  • Erin Grey Eichenberger (life sciences – ecology)
  • Layla El-Khoury (engineering – biological)
  • Katherine Hollinger (geosciences – climate and large-scale atmospheric dynamics)
  • Noah John Jabusch (physics and astronomy – condensed matter physics)
  • Samantha Alexis Mowery (life sciences – entomology)
  • Hayden Rudd (geosciences – hydrology)
  • Saeed Mirghani Saeed (materials research – chemistry of materials)
  • Nikole Ashley Worden (life sciences – evolutionary biology)
  • Anna Yaschenko (life sciences – systems and molecular biology) 

Students interested in learning more about the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program or other prestigious fellowships should contact the University Fellowships Office for information and assistance. 

This post was originally published in DASA.