Seminar Groups

Algebra and Combinatorics

The Algebra and Combinatorics Seminar features research talks about recent results in algebra, combinatorics, and related areas. Particular subjects of interest are the structure and representation theory of Lie algebras, quantum groups, algebraic groups, and vertex algebras, as well as the algebraic, enumerative, geometric, and topological aspects of combinatorics.

M 3-4 PM

Organizers:

Bojko Bakalov bnbakalo@ncsu.edu
Nathan Reading nreadin@ncsu.edu

Applied Mathematics Graduate Student (AMGSS)

The Applied Math Grad Student Seminar (AMGSS) is an opportunity for graduate students to give presentations in a low-pressure environment. These talks are typically progress reports on thesis research, and are often practice talks for conferences or oral examinations. Also included are reports and discussion from workshops, summer schools and internship experiences. Students get a chance to practice presenting (and listening to) talks by their peers and department faculty. Students wishing to attend the presentations are welcome to contact the organizers to be added to the seminar email list.

AMGSS website: https://sites.google.com/a/ncsu.edu/amgss/

M 4-5PM

Organizers:

Alen Alexanderian aalexan3@ncsu.edu
Mansoor Haider  m_haider@ncsu.edu
Ralph Smith  rsmith@ncsu.edu

Biomathematics

Talks in the area of mathematical biology and quantitative biology.

Tu 4:15-5:30PM

Organizers:
Alun Lloyd alun_lloyd@ncsu.edu

Colloquium

TBA

Organizer:
Dmitry Zenkov dzenkov@ncsu.edu

Differential Equations

This research seminar is a forum for lectures by NCSU or outside researchers in areas related to Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations, Analysis and Dynamical Systems.

Differential Equations/Nonlinear Analysis website

Fall 2020 Calendar

W 3-4PM

Organizers:
Lorena Bociu lvbociu@ncsu.edu
Khai Nguyen tnguye13@ncsu.edu
Michael Shearer  shearer@ncsu.edu

Financial Mathematics

F 1:30-2:30

Organizer:
T. Pang tpang@ncsu.edu

First Year/Graduate Training Modules

F 3-4PM

Organizer:
Seth Sullivant smsulli2@ncsu.edu

Geometry and Topology

The goal of the seminar is to present and discuss results in geometry,  topology, related topics and applications.

W 2-3PM

Organizers:
Irina Kogan iakogan@math.ncsu.edu
Tye Lidman tlid@math.ncsu.edu
Radmila Sazdanovic rsazdan@ncsu.edu

Nonlinear Analysis

Differential Equations/Nonlinear Analysis website

Fall 2020 Calendar

W 3-4PM

Organizers:
Patrick Combettes pcombet@ncsu.edu
Ryan Murray rwmurray@ncsu.edu
Khai Nguyen tnguye13@ncsu.edu

Numerical Analysis

The numerical analysis seminar is focused on showcasing research in the development and analysis of numerical methods. Areas of interest include approximation theory, solutions of ordinary and partial differential equations, numerical linear algebra, nonlinear equations, optimization, and inverse problems. Topics of interest include rigorous analysis of convergence of algorithms, their accuracy, stability, computational complexity, and applications to challenging problems.

Tu 3-4PM

Organizers:
Arvind K. Saibaba asaibab@ncsu.edu
Alen Alexanderian alexanderian@ncsu.edu
Dávid Papp dpapp@ncsu.edu

Probability and Analysis Webinar (PAW)

Website: https://sites.google.com/view/paw-seminar

Organizer: Paata Ivanisvili pivanis@ncsu.edu

Probability and Random Systems (PRS)

Probability and random systems seminar invites scholars and experts in probability theory and other related research areas to give a talk in pursuit of new knowledge and deeper understanding of the subject matter by intense and mutual intellectual interaction between the speaker and the faculty/students involved.

M 2-3PM

Organizer:
Min Kang mkang2@ncsu.edu

Pure Math Graduate Student (PuGS)

Pure Math Graduate Student Seminar is a platform for graduate students in pure mathematics to share their research with fellow graduate students. It is intended to provide a comfortable environment, free of faculty presence, in which graduate students can practice communicating their research or any interesting topics in pure mathematics.

Organizers:
Benjamin Hollering bkholler@ncsu.edu
Ashley Tharp amtharp@ncsu.edu

SIAM Student Chapter

We host professional development, tutorial, and research talks from NCSU faculty as well as visitors. Our primary audience is graduate students, but any are welcome to attend our events.

President: Justen Geddes
Vice President: Michael Redle

SUM Series

Th 4:30-5:30PM

Organizer:
Nathan Reading nreadin@ncsu.edu

Symbolic Computation

The discipline of symbolic computation includes computer algebra, hybrid symbolic-numeric computation, mathematical knowledge representation and the algebraic aspects of formal methods in computer science, such as rule-based theorem proving. Its goal is to “do mathematics by computer” (Stephen Wolfram), with, we would add, exact or validated answers. Trademarked symbolic computation algorithms are used for computation of a Gröbner basis, lattice basis reduction, polynomial factorization, closed-form summation and integration, and solution in Tarski’s theory of real geometry. Commercial symbolic computation packages (Wolfram’s Mathematica, Maple by Maplesoft, MuPAD inside Matlab) and academic software (Stein’s Sage platform and many smaller programs) today have millions of users.

The symbolic computation seminar features research talks related to the design and implementation of algorithms in symbolic computation, including such areas as exact linear algebra, sparse interpolation and signal processing, algorithms for problems from algebraic and real geometry and optimization, polynomial root finding and solution of polynomial systems, algebraic solution of difference and differential equations, validation of numerical results, fast certification of outputs from cloud servers, and applications of algebraic geometry in the sciences.

Tu 4:30-5:30PM

Organizer:
Hoon Hong hong@ncsu.edu
Irina Kogan iakogan@ncsu.edu
Seth Sullivant smsulli2@ncsu.edu
Agnes Szanto aszanto@ncsu.edu

Triangle Series in Combinatorics

Organizer:
Nathan Reading nreadin@ncsu.edu

Triangle Topology

W 3:15-4:15PM

Organizer:
Tye Lidman tlid@math.ncsu.edu
Radmila Sazdanovic rsazdan@ncsu.edu

Departmental Seminar and Student Group Lists

Algebra Seminars math-ac_seminar math-ac_seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Applied Mathematics Club math-amc math-amc@lists.ncsu.edu
Association for Women in Mathematics math-awm math-awm@lists.ncsu.edu
Differential Equations Seminars math-de_seminar math-de_seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Financial Math Seminars fm_seminar fm_seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Geometry & Topology Seminars geom-top-top-seminar geom-top-seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Graduate Student Algebra Seminars grad-alg-sem grad-alg-sem@lists.ncsu.edu
Numerical Analysis Seminars math-na_seminar math-na_seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Numerical Analysis Seminar (local) math-nal_seminar math-nal_seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Probability & Random Systems Seminars math-prs_seminar math-prs_seminar@lists.ncsu.edu
Super Symmetry ssseminar ssseminar@lists.ncsu.edu
SUM Series sumseries sumseries@lists.ncsu.edu
Symbolic Computation Seminars symbcomp symbcomp@lists.ncsu.edu

Managing Your Email Subscriptions

Mailing lists are now a part of GoogleGroups, please search for your desired group and request to join while logged in with you unity id.

Please visit https://google.oit.ncsu.edu/core/google-groups/ for more information.

Please contact the group organizer or  Alan Porch regarding questions about the email lists.