Skip to main content


Apr 19, 2016

Min Kang Named Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

Associate Professor of Mathematics Min Kang has been named an Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor. This title recognizes long-term, distinguished service in undergraduate teaching at NC State.

Mar 20, 2016

Robert Ramsay, 1940–2016

Robert Ramsay, who taught mathematics at NC State from 1967 until his retirement in 2004, died in Raleigh on March 29. He was 75. Ramsay, a topologist, received his Ph.D. from the University of Miami in 1967.

Mar 19, 2016

NC State Team Named Meritorious Winner in Modeling Contest

A team of three NC State math majors was named a Meritorious Winner in the 18th annual Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling held early this year, which attracted 5025 competing teams, 98% of them from other countries. "Meritorious Winner" designates teams in the top 20%.

Mar 19, 2016

Four Grad Students Win 2016 Department Awards

Four graduate students have won 2016 Mathematics Department awards. Carl Giuffre and Shira Polster won Maltbie Awards, which recognize outstanding teaching by a graduate student. Ismail Demir and Colby Long won Winton-Rose Scholarships, which recognize academic achievement and research success by students who are completing their Ph.D. thesis.

Mar 19, 2016

Three Win NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Three NC State mathematics students have won National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships this year.

Mar 19, 2016

Lorena Bociu Wins 2016 Equity for Women Award

The NC State Council on the Status of Women has named Assistant Professor Lorena Bociu the faculty recipient of its 2016 Equity for Women Award. Bociu was cited for her efforts to promote mathematical careers to female students.

Mar 19, 2016

AWM Chapter Hosts Sonia Kovalevsky Day

The Association for Women in Mathematics Student Chapter at NC State will be hosting their 5th Annual Sonia Kovalevsky Day on the morning of Saturday, April 2nd. The event will involve mathematically-oriented games and workshops and a keynote talk.

Mar 19, 2016

Chertock Named Department Head

Professor Alina Chertock has been named the new head of the Mathematics Department. Chertock has been with NC State since 2002 and was serving as interim department head prior to her permanent appointment.

Feb 19, 2016

Lorena Bociu Wins NSF CAREER Award

Assistant Professor of Mathematics Lorena Bociu has won a National Science Foundation CAREER award, one of NSF's most prestigious awards for young faculty.

Feb 19, 2016

Mia de los Reyes Wins 2016 Churchill Scholarship

Senior mathematics and physics major Mia de los Reyes has won a 2016 Churchill Scholarship to study astronomy at the University of Cambridge in England. Churchill Scholarships were created in 1963 at…