Graduate News

May 29, 2018

Winton-Rose Award Recipients

Daniel Bernstein and Joey Hart (Department of Mathematics) are the recipients of the Winton-Rose Award this year. The award recognizes excellence in research and was established in 1987 by Professors Rose and Winton.

May 29, 2018

Colebank and Wolfkill receive the H.T. Banks Award

Mitchel Colebank and Karlan Wolfkill are the first recipients of the H.T. Banks Awards. The awards reward outstanding graduate students who are associated with the Center for Research in Scientific Computing (CRSC).

Apr 13, 2018

Aaron Bardall, Elyse Rogers and Victor Summers selected for 2018-19 NC State PTP program

Congratulations to Aaron Bardall, Elyse Rogers and Victor Summers who have been selected as members of the 2018-19 NC State PTP program, the premier professional development initiative program of our Graduate School.

Apr 8, 2018

Zack Morrow, William Reese, Bekah White and Zev Woodstock selected for 2018 NSF Graduate Fellowships

Four students in graduate programs in the Department of Mathematics have been selected for 2018 NSF Graduate Fellowships: Zack Morrow, William Reese, Bekah White and Zev Woodstock.

Apr 1, 2018

Academic Packways

The application deadline for the summer 2018 Academic Packways program is April 2. This 2-day program (May 17 and 18) is a professional development program for NC State postdocs and late-stage PhD candidates interested in pursuing a faculty career.

Feb 27, 2018

2018 Nonlinear Mechanics and Dynamics (NOMAD) Research Institute Recruitment

recruitment for the 2018 Nonlinear Mechanics and Dynamics (NOMAD) Research Institute is now underway. We are currently seeking highly qualified graduate students interested in participating in our seven-week long program to work on one of six technical projects. Undergraduate level students with the right experience and skill set may also be considered.

Feb 27, 2018

2018 Graduate Student Topology and Geometry Conference

We also invite graduate students to apply to speak at the conference. Please register by following the link at the conference website:  Limited funding for travel and lodging is available.  The deadline to apply for funding is March 1st.

Feb 19, 2018

13th Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium – MARCH 21

The the 13th Annual NC State University Graduate Student Research Symposium will be held in the Jane S. McKimmon Center on Wednesday, March 21, 2018. The poster session will be from 1:30pm to 4:00pm.  This year, there will be over 200 poster presentations representing research being conducted in over 70 graduate programs from all colleges.

Oct 10, 2017

MA591-003 Special Topics: Introduction to fluid dynamics for Spring 2018

MA591-003 Special Topics: Introduction to fluid dynamics Spring 2018:  Tue Thur 4:30-5:45 – SAS Hall 1108 This course will offer an introduction to fluid dynamics and its applications in biology. The course will study fluid mechanics from a mathematical perspective, […]

Apr 24, 2017

Special topics course for Fall 2017: Mathematics of Climate Science

Interested in getting some hands-experience in data science? Consider taking the online course MA 591-602 offered this Fall by Dr. Jessica Matthews, Research Associate at CICS-NC (Cooperative Institute for Climate and Satellites NC) and adjunct faculty in the Department. The […]